top of page
Copy of IMG_4499.jpg

APRIL 26TH, 27TH, & 28TH



Location: Prado Regional Dog Training Park


Please review all important rules and information regarding the 2024 testing season before continuing 


NAVHDA utilizes four levels of testing, Natural Ability, Utility Preparatory Test, Utility Test, and The Invitational for assessing the skill level of your dog.  In each of these tests your dog is judged against a standard set forth in the AIMS Programs Test Rules and assigned the appropriate score, in the higher levels you and your dog are judged as a team.  Here is a brief description of each of the testing levels.​


The Natural Ability Test is designed to evaluate the inherent natural abilities of young dogs and gain insight into their possible usefulness as versatile gun dogs. It rates seven important inherited abilities: nose, search, tracking, pointing, water, desire and cooperation. Dogs are eligible for a Natural Ability Test up until, and including, the day they reach 16 months of age. Dogs over 16 months may be run for evaluation only. Dogs over 16 months may only be run if space is available. No prize classification can be awarded the dog run for evaluation.

The Utility Preparatory Test measures the dogs’ development midway through their training toward the Utility Test. No previous testing required.

The Utility Test evaluates trained dogs in water and field, before and after the shot, as finished versatile hunting companions as well as many other specific tasks. No previous testing required.

The Invitational Test is our highest level of testing. Only dogs that have achieved a Prize I in Utility are eligible. This limits the entry to exceptional animals who have demonstrated a high level of training and tests their skills in the advanced work.

bottom of page